Ghana And West African Countries To Adopt Single Currency Called Eco In 2027

Spread the love

A group of fifteen West African countries have adopted a new road map to launch a single currency in 2027 after the coronavirus pandemic thwarted its previous plans.

The new road map was agreed by heads of state of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS); Jean-Claude Kassi Brou, President of the ECOWAS Commission, told a news conference after a summit of the leaders in Ghana on Saturday.

Read This: Meet The Man Who Resigned From His Job To Start A Barber Shop Business

“Due to the shock of the pandemic, the heads of state had decided to suspend the implementation of the convergence pact in 2020-2021” Brou said.

Read This:  [Watch Video]Twene Jonas Finally Reveals All His Businesses & Companies He Has In America

“We have a new road map and a new convergence pact that will cover the period between 2022-2026, and 2027 being the launch of the Eco,” he said, referring to the name of the new currency.

Dr Brou said the heads of state had asked the ministerial committee to look at the new roadmap and the convergence pact, taking into account the lessons from the COVID-19 pandemic.

Read This: US President Biden’s Family Dog Champ Dies At Age 13: ‘We love our sweet, good boy.’

Read This:  US Star Angelina Jolie Visits Refugee Camp In Burkina Faso

ECOWAS has a combined population of 385 million and was set up in 1975.
It Comprises Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo.

Thank you for reading my post, please share your thoughts with me in the comment section. And don't forget to share this post on social media to help a friend.

The social share button above and below the post can do that for you. Also, if you enjoy my content, feel free to support me by using the coffee cup on the right side of the page.

And hey, you won't pay any money when you follow us on social media. So why not follow us on FacebookInstagram, Twitter, Pinterest, YouTube & Telegram.

Read This:  Fraud Boy went mad after stepping from his Benz shouting, "I don't need your money" - Watch the video


How useful was this post?

Click on a star to rate it!

Average rating / 5. Vote count:

No votes so far! Be the first to rate this post.

Spread the love

What Do You Think?


Be the first to read our content, get new tips and free giveaways that are exclusive for our fans.

We respect your privacy. We won't spam your folder.
You cannot copy content from this page